Countdown to TOMS

Follow ME on my quest to be a TOMS Intern!

No Shoes Allowed! April 8, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Alecia Nicole @ 21:17

As you all know, today was One Day Without Shoes….. Today was the most fun, incredible, eye opening, painful, meaningful day I have had in recent memory. You all also know that today was the barefoot race that I have been planning for the last most and it was one of the greatest experiences of my life!

The day started off with me getting on the bus barefoot to go to class. I got a few looks from people who didn’t know why I didn’t have shoes on, but they would soon be in the know because there were so many people at my school walking barefoot! I couldn’t believe it. I knew that the movement was big but I didn’t think that many people would actually go through with leaving their shoes home for a day. Everywhere I walked there were bare feet! It was awesome!

My first stop of the day was to pick up the finish line signs for the race, after that I headed outside where there was a table set up for all TOMS supporters. People were decorating shirts and signing a poster to pledge to be barefoot all day. This was all so amazing but I had to get to class so I was off. After my classes for the day were done, many barefoot students came together for a barefoot walk through campus.  We walked from one end of campus to the other and back again. (And Ga Southern is no small campus) My feet were screaming at me so loud by the time we were done but I knew it was for a purpose so I kept walking.

After the walk it was time to prepare for the barefoot race. Thankfully the SAGE members helped me out with this part and we came together to have a great time. When planning this race, I didn’t have high expectations for the amount of people who would come. Of course, I hoped that we would have allot of participants, but I didn’t want to count on that too much and be disappointed. Well, I was definitely not disappointed today. We had about fifty people to come out to the race which was awesome! Everybody came together and we had a great time! I knew that the race would be good promotion for the One for One Movement, but I had no idea how much fun it would be. It was so amazing for me to see this event that I built from scratch come to life and be so successful. All week I was so worried that things were going to go wrong. Was it going to rain? Were people seeing the posters we put up? Did people care enough about the movement to come out? In the end it all worked out great and I couldn’t be happier.

Another great thing about today was my experience with walking barefoot all day. Before today, if you asked me I would have told to in a second that I would walk around barefoot all the time if I could. Before today I truly believed that statement was true. But now I am fully aware of just how much I need and depend on my shoes. I still love to be barefoot in certain places like around the house or at the beach but I now know that it is not an easy or fun thing to be barefoot all the time. Realizing this just makes the work that TOMS does that much more important to me. I feel like my eyes have been opened. Although I know that I still have no idea what it is like to live on a daily basis without shoes, I got a little taste of it today and it is not easy. Now I can truly understand the words “Life is hard without shoes.”

Ciao!

-Alecia

 

Leave a Reply

